

## King County

1200 King County Courthouse 516 Third Avenue Seattle, WA 98104

## Legislation Text

File #: 2018-0286, Version: 1

Clerk 06/21/2018

A MOTION appointing Eric Beckman, who resides in council district eight, to the remainder of a three-year term on the Vashon Island ferry advisory committee.

WHEREAS, RCW 47.60.310 provides for the appointment of ferry advisory committees to express to the management of Washington state ferries the views of local community groups regarding the service provided by the state ferry system and any problems being experienced within the area served by the ferry system, and

WHEREAS, RCW 47.60.310 provides for Vashon Island to have a ferry advisory committee consisting of three members, and

WHEREAS, RCW 47.60.310 provides that at least one person appointed to the Vashon Island ferry advisory committee shall be a representative of an established ferry user group or of frequent users of the ferry system, and

WHEREAS, RCW 47.60.310 provides that each member of the Vashon Island ferry advisory committee shall reside in the vicinity of the Vashon Island ferry terminal, and

WHEREAS, RCW 47.60.310 provides that not more than two members of the Vashon Island ferry advisory committee may be from the same political party at the time of their appointment, and

WHEREAS, RCW 47.60.310 provides that the members of the Vashon Island ferry advisory committee shall be appointed by the Vashon/Maury Island community council to serve staggered four-year terms, and WHEREAS, RCW 47.60.310 provides that if the Vashon/Maury Island community council fails to

appoint a qualified person to fill a vacancy on the Vashon ferry advisory committee within ninety days after the vacancy occurs, the legislative authority of King County, which is the King County council, shall appoint a qualified person to fill the vacancy, and

WHEREAS, the Vashon/Maury Island community council is no longer operating and was administratively dissolved by the Washington secretary of state in September 2013, and

WHEREAS, in 2016, upon the expiration of the terms of the members of the Vashon Island ferry advisory committee, and in the absence of the Vashon/Maury Island community council, the King County council appointed as members of the Vashon Island ferry advisory committee the three people who had been most recently appointed by the Vashon/Maury Island community council, and

WHEREAS, for the 2016 appointments to the Vashon Island ferry advisory committee, the King County council set staggered terms, with one each for two years, three years and four years, with the first of those terms expiring on June 30, 2018 and the second expiring on June 30, 2019, and

WHEREAS, the King County council desires that the ferry advisory committee provide opportunities for clear and collegial communication between community members and staff of the Washington State Ferries, so as to ensure efficient and effective ferry services to King County residents and businesses, and

WHEREAS, through Motion 15143, the King County council developed a process for appointments to the Vashon Island ferry advisory committee by convening a Vashon Island ferry advisory committee membership review group to provide notice of vacancies to the community, offer the opportunity for interested community members from Vashon/Maury Island to apply to serve and organize a structured review of applications that are received that considers the responsibilities of ferry advisory committee members, and

WHEREAS, in considering applications to fill the unexpired term for the position that ends on June 30, 2019, the Vashon Island ferry advisory committee membership review group made recommendations to the King County council for the appointment that meet the requirements for membership on the Vashon Island ferry advisory committee described in RCW 47.60.310;

## File #: 2018-0286, Version: 1

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT MOVED by the Council of King County:

Eric Beckman, who resides on Vashon Island, which is in council district eight, is

hereby appointed to the Vashon Island ferry advisory committee to the remainder of a three-year term to expire on June 30, 2019.