

Legislation Text

File #: 2016-0334, Version: 2

A MOTION appointing committees to write the voters' pamphlet statements for the November 8, 2016, general election regarding Ordinance 18308, which provides for the submission to the qualified electors of King County at a general election to be held in King County on November 8, 2016, of a proposition to make the office of King County prosecuting attorney nonpartisan; amending Section 610 of the King County Charter; adding a new Section 649 to the King County Charter; and amending Section 680.10 of the King County Charter.

WHEREAS, K.C.C. chapter 1.10 provides for the publication and distribution of local voters' pamphlets in conformity with chapter 29A.32 RCW for annual general elections held in King County, and

WHEREAS, RCW 29A.32.280 provides that, for each measure from a unit of local government that is included in a local voters' pamphlet, the legislative authority of that jurisdiction shall formally appoint a committee to prepare arguments advocating voter approval of the measure and a committee to prepare arguments advocating voter rejection of the measure, and

WHEREAS, Ordinance 18308 provides for the submission to the qualified electors of King County at a general election to be held in King County on November 8, 2016, of a proposition to make the office of King County prosecuting attorney nonpartisan; amending Section 610 of the King County Charter; adding a new Section 649 to the King County Charter; and amending Section 680.10 of the King County Charter;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT MOVED by the Council of King County:

The following individuals are appointed to serve on the voters' pamphlet committee to write statements for and against the proposition to make the office of King County prosecuting attorney nonpartisan; amending

File #: 2016-0334, Version: 2

Section 610 of the King County Charter; adding a new Section 649 to the King County Charter; and amending Section 680.10 of the King County Charter:

FOR AGAINST

- 1. Jenny Durkan 1. Jaxon Ravens
- 2. Mike McKay 2. Aaron Ostrom
- 3. Christopher T. Bayley