



1200 King County Courthouse 516 Third Avenue Seattle. WA 98104

Legislation Text

File #: 2004-0547, Version: 2

Clerk 11/22/2004

A MOTION appointing members to the districting committee in accordance with Section 650.30.20 of the King County Charter.

WHEREAS, King County Charter Amendment 1A (Ordinance 14767) approved by the voters at the November 2, 2004, general election will reduce the number of King County Council members representing districts, and the number of council districts, from thirteen to nine, and make corresponding reductions in council voting requirements, and

WHEREAS, King County Charter Amendment 1A (Ordinance 14767) calls for the districting process of new council district boundaries to be completed by January 15, 2005, and

WHEREAS, Section 650.30.10 of the King County Charter provides that the boundaries of each district shall correspond as nearly as practical with the boundaries of the election precincts, municipalities and census tracts and shall be drawn to produce districts with compact and contiguous territory, composed of economic and geographic units and approximately equal in population, and

WHEREAS, Section 650.30.20 of the King County Charter provides for a five-member districting committee to which the council appoints the initial four persons to the committee, two from each of the two major political parties, and those four appoint a fifth person who shall serve as the chairman of the districting committee, and

WHEREAS, Section 650.30.30 of the King County Charter sets forth the procedure for consideration, adoption and filing of the districting plan, and

WHEREAS, chapter 29.70 RCW provides for redistricting by counties, municipal corporations and

File #: 2004-0547, Version: 2

special purpose districts, and

WHEREAS, the districting process should be conducted in a manner that ensures the public the opportunity for public participation;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT MOVED by the Council of King County:

In accordance with Section 650.30.20 of the King County Charter, the following persons are hereby appointed to the districting committee, two from each of the two major political parties:

Democratic Party: 1. Joann Francis

2. Mike Mann

Republican Party: 1. Skip Rowley

2. Steve Dennis

The districting committee is requested to conduct its business according to the

standards of the Open Public Meetings Act and to conduct at least one public hearing before adopting the districting plan.