

Bainbridge Island Japanese American Community

P. O. Box 10449 Bainbridge Island, WA 98110 www.bijac.org

BIJAC April 5, 2017

Dow Constantine King County Executive 401 Fifth Ave., Ste. 800 Seattle, WA 98104

Joe McDermott Chair, King County Council 516 Third Ave., Ste. 1200 Seattle, WA 98104

Re: King County purchase and acquisition of the Mukai Fruit Barreling Plant

Dear Executive Constantine and Councilman McDermott:

On behalf of the Bainbridge Island Japanese American Community (BIJAC), I am writing our enthusiastic endorsement and full support for King County to purchase and preserve the Mukai Cold Process Fruit Barreling Plant on Vashon Island.

The BIJAC has strived keep our island's history preserved and alive, which includes remembering our community's legacy of growing the world famous Marshall strawberries (more than two million pounds in 1940) and the operation of a thriving strawberry cannery.

Unfortunately, in 1997 the cannery burned to the ground and only a small fraction of one of once numerous strawberry farms remains, but the exciting opportunity to have the irreplaceable power of place to tell the story of the once thriving Japanese American strawberry and fruit industry in central Puget Sound will be possible by acquiring, preserving and developing the Mukai Cold Process Fruit Barreling Plant.

I have personally met with representatives of the Friends of Mukai on Vashon Island about the various Mukai properties, who as you know for years they have selflessly worked to preserve the history and legacy of their island's Japanese American community. The BIJAC is impressed with their dedication and sincere passion based on respect, honor and the hope of healing.

The BIJAC fully supports King County's rare opportunity to purchase and preserve this unique and special place in Washington state history so that the legacy and contributions of the Japanese American community in central Puget Sound are forever remembered and honored.

Sincerely,

Clarence Moriuski

Clarence Moriwaki President

President Clarence Moriwaki Vice President Mary Woodward

Secretary Joyce Nishimura Treasurer Debra Grindeland

Ron Coglon Karen Matsumoto Vivian Esteban Keith Uyekawa Trustees Lilly Kodama Kay Nakao

Hisa Matsudaira Gary Sakuma