Wagner, Nick

From: Elizabeth Siegel

Sent: Sunday, December 13, 2015 11:57 PM

To: Wagner, Nick

Subject: Fw: Fwd: Nominees for the State House Vacancy in the 36th Legislative District

Elizabeth Siegel

On Thursday, December 10, 2015 10:56 PM, Javier Valdez <airjav@msn.com> wrote:

Begin forwarded message:

From: "Rich Erwin" < chair@kcdems.org
Date: December 7, 2015 at 9:40:45 PM PST

To: < larry.gossett@kingcounty.gov >, < rod.dembowski@kingcounty.gov >,

<a href="mailto: ,, ,,,

<joe.mcdermott@kingcounty.gov>, <jane.hague@kingcounty.gov>,

<kathy.lambert@kingcounty.gov>, <reagan.dunn@kingcounty.gov>,

<Pete.vonReichbauer@kingcounty.gov>

Cc: <anne.noris@kingcounty.gov>

Subject: Nominees for the State House Vacancy in the 36th Legislative District

King County Democrats

PO Box 25273, Seattle, WA 98165 | www.kcdems.org

DATE: December 7th, 2015

TO:

The Honorable Larry Phillips, King County Council Chair, Councilmember for District 4

The Honorable Rod Dembowski, King County Councilmember, District 1

The Honorable Larry Gossett, King County Councilmember, District 2

The Honorable Kathy Lambert, King County Councilmember, District 3

The Honorable Dave Upthegrove, King County Councilmember, District 5

The Honorable Jane Hague, King County Councilmember, District 6

The Honorable Pete von Reichbauer, King County Councilmember, District 7

The Honorable Joe McDermott, King County Councilmember, District 8

The Honorable Reagan Dunn, King County Councilmember, District 9

CC:

Anne Noris, Clerk of the Council anne.noris@kingcounty.gov
King County Courthouse

1

516 Third Avenue, Room 1200 Seattle, WA 98104 (206) 477-1020 (206) 296-1024 TDD

FROM: Rich Erwin, Chair

King County Democratic Central Committee

RE: Nominees for the State House Vacancy in the 36th Legislative District

Dear Councilmembers:

Pursuant to the Charter and Bylaws of the Washington State Democratic Party, the Washington State Constitution, and the Revised Code of Washington, the King County Democratic Central Committee hereby presents the following individuals as the nominees for the position of State Senate in the 36th Legislative District, to succeed State Senator Jean Kohl-Welles, who ran for and was elected to Position 4 of the King County Council on November 10th, 2015.

- 1. Reuven Carlyle
- 2. Liz Campbell
- 3. David Kaplan

The candidates are presented in rank order as they were voted for and nominated by those members of the KCDCC residing and serving in the 36th Legislative District, and subsequently unanimously ratified by the King County Democratic Central Committee. You should consider the ranking as the preferred order in which the Democratic Party wishes you to consider these candidates.

The following votes were taken on the evening of December 2nd, 2015, at the Stockholm Hall of the Swedish Cultural Center in Seattle, Washington. I am pleased to inform you that one hundred ninety-two of the two hundred sixteen of the duly elected and appointed Democratic precinct committee officers from the 36th Legislative District participated in the caucus, for a turnout of eighty-nine percent.

It was decided by the precinct officers present to hold a single election for the State Senate seat. Reuven Carlyle came in first place, with 172 votes, followed by Liz Campbell with 9 and David Kaplan with 4.

In anticipation of the possibility that you may appoint State Representative Reuven Carlyle to the position of State Senator in the 36th Legislative District, a second election took place to select nominees for House Position 1 in the 36th Legislative District.

- 1. Noel Frame
- 2. Jeff Manson
- 3. Sarah Reynfeld
- 1. The first vote was an elimination round that determined who would appear on the list of nominees. Noel Frame came in first place with 55 votes, followed by Jeff Manson with 48, Sarah Reynveld with 44, John Burbank with 31 and Rene Murray with 14.

- 2. The second vote determined who would be ranked third on our list of nominees. Noel Frame came in first place with 71 votes, Jeff Manson came in second with 64 votes and Sarah Reynveld came in third with 54 votes.
- 3. The second vote determined who would be ranked first and second on our list of nominees. Noel Frame came in first with 99 votes and Jeff Manson came in second with 91 votes.

The candidates are presented in rank order as they were voted for and nominated by those members of the KCDCC residing and serving in the 36th Legislative District, and subsequently unanimously ratified by the King County Democratic Central Committee. You should consider the ranking as the preferred order in which the Democratic Party wishes you to consider these candidates.

On behalf of the King County Democratic Central Committee, I am pleased to present these distinguished nominees to you for your consideration. Thank you for your service to our county, and for the work you will do to make an informed decision with respect to these important appointments.

Sincerely,

Rich Erwin, Chair

King County Democratic Central Committee (KCDCC)