

King County

Meeting Minutes

Regional Transit Committee

Councilmembers: Jorge L. Barón, Chair De'Sean Quinn Alternate:

Sound Cities Association: Vice Chair: Barbara de Michele, Issaquah; Neal Black, Kirkland; Joseph Cimaomo, Jr., Covington; Susan Honda, Federal Way; Karen Howe, Sammamish; Ryan McIrvin, Renton; Katherine Ross, Snoqualmie; Toni Troutner, Kent;

Alternates: Paul Charbonneau, Newcastle; JC Harris, Des Moines; Tarlochan Mann, Pacific; Tracy Taylor, Auburn

> City of Seattle: Joy Hollingsworth, Rob Saka Alternate: Robert Kettle

Lead Staff: Mary Bourguignon (206-263-3296) Committee Clerk: Blake Wells (206-263-1617)

3:00 PM

Wednesday, May 21, 2025

Hybrid Meeting

DRAFT MINUTES

1. Call to Order

Chair Barón called the meeting to order at 3:01 p.m.

2. Roll Call

Present: 10 - Cimaomo Jr., de Michele, McIrvin, Troutner, Honda, Barón, Howe, Quinn, Black and Harris

Excused: 3 - Ross, Hollingsworth and Saka

3. <u>Approval of Minutes</u>

Vice Chair de Michele moved approval of the April 16, 2025, meeting minutes. There being no objections, the minutes were approved.

4. <u>Chair's Report</u>

Chair Barón provided an overview of the meeting topics.

5. <u>Public Comment</u>

The following individual provided public comment: Alex Tsimerman

6. <u>General Manager's Report</u>

DeAnna Martin, Chief of Staff, Metro Transit Department, reported on a lawsuit filed by a national coalition of local jurisdictions against the federal Department of Housing and Urban Development and the Department of Transportation's Federal Transit Administration (FTA), the status of a motion for a restraining order that would block the FTA from imposing or enforcing unauthorized grant conditions, new data related to drug related incidents on or near Metro from 2023 – 2024, the celebration of the opening of Sound Transit's downtown Redmond link extension, Metro ridership and service changes, trailhead direct service, and the beginning of fare enforcement on May 31st.

Briefings

6. Briefing No. 2025-B0053

Free Youth Fare and Youth Ridership

Chris O'Claire, Director, Mobility Division, Metro Transit Department; Ina Percival, Section Manager, Market Innovation, Metro Transit Department; and Melanie Mayock, Program Manager, Youth Mobility, Metro Transit Department; briefed the committee and answered questions from the members.

This matter was Presented

7. Briefing No. 2025-B0054

Update on Service Recovery Plan: Ridership Recovery and Restructures

Chris O'Claire, Director, Mobility Division, Metro Transit Department; and Katie Chalmers, Transit Service Development Manager, Metro Transit Department; briefed the committee and answered questions from the members.

This matter was Presented

Other Business

There was no further business to come before the committee.

Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 4:31 p.m.

Approved this _____ day of _____

Clerk's Signature