

Dow Constantine
King County Executive
401 Fifth Avenue, Suite 800
Seattle, WA 98104-1818
206-263-9600 Fax 206-296-0194
TTY Relay: 711
www.kingcounty.gov

January 10, 2024

The Honorable Dave Upthegrove Chair, King County Council Room 1200 C O U R T H O U S E

Dear Councilmember Upthegrove:

I am pleased to transmit to you a proposed Motion appointing Seattle City Councilmember Dan Strauss to the Sound Transit Board of Directors. This proposed Motion is one of three I am sending simultaneously to the Council for action. Approval of these proposed Motions will support timely appointments of new board members to four-year terms, from 2024 to 2027. If approved, these appointments will provide representation of the subareas within King County's portion of the Sound Transit taxing district.

Sound Transit is governed by an 18-member board comprised of local elected officials proportional to the population in the Sound Transit district. The Sound Transit Board of Directors establishes policies and gives direction and provides oversight regarding voterapproved projects within the Sound Transit taxing district. King County is represented by 10 Executive appointed board members and confirmed by the King County Council.

In proposing these individuals for appointment to the Sound Transit Board, I am ensuring that each subarea within King County's portion of the Sound Transit district is represented by local and countywide elected officials, each of whom demonstrates a strong understanding of the significant role that mass transit infrastructure plays in getting people moving and combatting climate change.

Thank you for your consideration of these proposed nominations to the Sound Transit Board of Directors. This important proposed legislation will help ensure active and timely participation by King County board members on pressing issues and policy decisions required for the next four years .

The Honorable Dave Upthegrove January 10, 2024 Page 2

If your staff have questions, please contact Calli Knight, Director of Infrastructure Initiatives, King County Executive Office at 206-477-9627.

Sincerely,

Crum Padde for

Dow Constantine King County Executive

Enclosure

cc: King County Councilmembers

ATTN: Stephanie Cirkovich, Chief of Staff
Melani Hay, Clerk of the Council
Shannon Braddock, Deputy Executive, Office of the Executive
Karan Gill, Chief of Staff, Office of the Executive
Penny Lipsou, Council Relations Director, Office of the Executive